"The Only Security of All is in a Free Press"

About


Stephen Handelman, Director
shandelman@jjay.cuny.edu
646.557.4563

Stephen Handelman was appointed Director of the Center on Media, Crime and Justice at John Jay College in May 2007. An internationally known author and investigative journalist whose award-winning work has intersected the worlds of journalism, higher education, international security, justice and human rights, he is an expert on post-Soviet crime and corruption, and a veteran foreign correspondent who has reported from the former Soviet Union, the Middle East, Africa, Latin America and Asia. Full Bio

 


Cara Tabachnick, Deputy Director
ctabachnick@jjay.cuny.edu
212.484.1175

Cara Tabachnick was appointed Deputy Director of the Center on Media, Crime and Justice in March, 2008. As a police and crime reporter, she has freelanced for Newsday in New York City and Long Island, and has written for NewsweekScientific American online, the New York PostUPI, and, AM New York, among others...Full Bio

 

Ricardo Martinez, Center Administrator
 rmartinez@jjay.cuny.edu
 646.557.4690

 Ricardo Martinez was appointed Center Administrator of the Center on Media, Crime and Justice in 2011. Ricardo’s prior experience was as the program coordinator for the College & Community Fellowship program. Full Bio

 

Joe Domanick, Associate Director, Senior Fellow
 
jdomanick@jjay.cuny.edu

Joe Domanick, an award-winning investigative journalist and author, is Associate Director of the CMCJ and West Coast Bureau Chief of The Crime Report. His latest book is Cruel Justice: Three Strikes and the Politics of Crime in America’s Golden State. ..Full Bio

 

Ted Gest, Senior Fellow
 
tgest@jjay.cuny.edu

Ted Gest, president of Criminal Justice Journalists, the nation’s only organization of working journalists covering criminal justice, has been a senior fellow and founding partner of the Center for Crime, Media and Justice since 2006...Full Bio

 

 kates_headshot 

 Graham Kates, Deputy Managing Editor, The Crime Report
 graham@thecrimereport.org 

 212.484.1356

Graham Kates, Deputy Managing Editor for The Crime Report, oversees daily operations on the site and the TCRs daily and weekly newsletters.  Graham also serves as a senior staff reporter.  See Full Bio