"The Only Security of All is in a Free Press"

Awards for Excellence in Criminal Justice Reporting









Submissions are now being accepted for the 2017 John Jay College of Criminal Justice/Harry Frank Guggenheim Awards for Excellence in Criminal Justice Reporting.

ABOUT THE AWARDS: The annual awards, sponsored by the nation’s pre-eminent academic institution on criminal justice, honor investigative, feature, analytical and enterprise journalism that has had a significant impact on public understanding of criminal justice issues. The 2017 awards will be presented in conjunction with the John Jay/Harry F. Guggenheim Annual Symposium on Crime in America scheduled in February 2018. The awards are administered by the Center on Media, Crime at John Jay, and judged by a panel of leading journalists and educators. The $1,500 prizes are awarded in two categories: Single Story and Series.

You can submit entries here or through the link at the bottom of this page. But please first read information about the prize below, since it contains new information.

ELIGIBILITY: To be eligible for the prize, work must be published in a newspaper, magazine or online news outlet in the U.S. (broadcast reports are eligible if they contain a significant online dimension) between November 1, 2016 and October 31, 2017.

CRITERIA: The awards honor enterprise, analytical and investigative reporting work that has had a demonstrated impact on public understanding or public policy (local or national) in any area related to criminal justice. Spot news stories may qualify if they advance the above criteria. Each submission can only be entered in one category, but multiple submissions from the same news outlets are accepted. All submissions must include a nominating letter from a supervising editor providing details that can help the judges assess the impact and significance of the work.

DEADLINE: November 7, 2017 11:59 pm EST  (*DEADLINE EXTENDED To Friday, Nov 10 11:59 pm)

COST OF ENTRY: $75 per submission.

TO ENTER: Stories and accompanying material must be submitted as pdfs and uploaded to the entry form, with payment.

WINNERS: Winners (and runners up) will be announced in January 2018. At least one winner from each category will be entitled to an all-expense-paid trip to New York to receive the prize at our annual awards dinner at John Jay College, scheduled next year on Feb 15, 2018. But all winners and runners-up are entitled to attend the dinner free of charge, as well as the annual John Jay/Harry Frank Guggenheim Symposium on Crime in America, which takes place Feb 15-16, 2018.

JUDGES: Entries are judged by a panel of distinguished journalists and educators.

For further questions about eligibility, criteria, details of submission, etc. please contact Wren Longno, prize administrator, at wlongno@jjay.cuny.edu, 845-275-3828; or Ricardo Martinez, prize administrator, at: rmartinez@jjay.cuny.edu, 646-557-4690.

PAST PRIZES: A list of previous winners of the John Jay/Harry Frank Guggenheim Award for Excellence in Criminal Justice Reporting, along with their work, can be accessed here.

Awards are to be presented in February 2018.

* * *

The Center on Media, Crime and Justice (CMCJ) promotes quality reporting on criminal justice, and brings journalists together with scholars and practitioners to help broaden public understanding of the trends, problems and issues relating to crime and justice in 21st century society. CMCJ also runs www.thecrimereport.org , the nation’s most comprehensive criminal justice news and resource service.

An international leader in educating for justice, John Jay College of Criminal Justice of
The City University of New York approaches justice as an applied art and science in service to society and as an ongoing conversation about fundamental human desires for fairness, equality and the rule of law.  www.jjay.cuny.edu .

The H.F. Guggenheim Foundation sponsors scholarly research on problems of violence, aggression, and dominance. The foundation provides both research grants to established scholars and dissertation fellowships to graduate students during the dissertation-writing year. For more information, visit www.hfg.org.